Annual General Meeting 2019

The 112th Annual General Meeting of the Old Edinburgh Club will be held on Wednesday 25 September 2019 at 7.00 pm in the City Chambers, High Street, Edinburgh.

Although nominations for membership of the Council may be made at the AGM, it is helpful if names are submitted to the Secretary beforehand. Currently there are a number of vacancies on the Council and members are encouraged to consider serving the Club by seeking election to the Council. In particular, there is urgent need for someone to offer their services as Secretary.

Office-bearers require to be elected annually; Council members serve for three years. Mr Steven Robb was appointed in 2018 and Mr Harrison, Ms Sheila Collins and Ms Asma Khan were co-opted in the course of the year. Ms Collins has indicated that she does not wish to continue in office. Mr Harrison’s and Ms Khan’s appointments require to be homologated by the AGM.

If you intend raising a matter not on the agenda, you are asked to give notification to the Secretary in advance.

The Annual Report and Accounts have been approved by the Club’s Council for submission to the Office of the Scottish Charity Regulator and is available to download here.


will be held in the City Chambers, High Street, Edinburgh on Wednesday 25th September 2019 at 7.00pm.

W Peter Graham
Honorary Secretary


  1. Welcome
  2. Apologies for absence
  3. Minute of the AGM held on 26 th September 2018 (printed on page 115 of Volume 13 of the Book of the Old Edinburgh Club)
  4. Intimation of items for inclusion under 10: Other Competent Business
  5. Annual Report
  6. Secretary’s Report
  7. Treasurer’s Report
  8. Re-elect Dr Neil K Dickson as Independent Examiner
  9. Editor’s Report
  10. Election of Office Bearers and Council:
    Honorary President: Lord Cullen of Whitekirk
    President: Rev W Peter Graham
    Vice Presidents: Dr Edward Duvall
    Hon. Treasurer: Mr Mike Harrison
    Hon. Secretary & Minutes Secretary: Vacant
    Editor Professor Robert Morris
    Membership Secretary: Mr Jerry Ozaniec
    Programme Secretary: Professor Richard Rodger
    Publicity Officer: Mrs Pat Jones
    Council Members: Ms Asma Khan, Dr Neil MacGillvray, and any other nominations [Mr Steven Robb was elected in 2018 to serve for three years]
    Any member wishing to make a nomination for an office bearer or an ordinary member of Council is invited to send the name of the nominee together with a note of their agreement to stand for election to the Honorary Secretary by 21 September. Nominations may also be made at the AGM provided the nominee is present or has agreed in writing to stand.
  11. Any other competent business of which notice is given at the start of the meeting

At the close of the formal business there will be a presentation by two members of the Club, Dr Edward Duvall and Mr Steven Robb, on aspects of graveyard and cemetery maintenance.

Refreshments will be available at the end of the meeting.